High Chairs for Independence

High chairs collage 2

I did some research into high chairs for independence when I was looking at chairs for Joshua in my last post.

From top to bottom (and left to right):
Stokke Tripp Trapp
Mocka High Chair
Keekaroo High Chair
Svan High Chair
Hauck Wooden High Chair – also available here.

Others:

Boomer High Chair
Leander High Chair
Jolly Kidz Wooden High Chair
Ikea Agam Junior Chair
Ikea Ingolf Junior Chair

Please note that the 2 Ikea chairs that I have listed I would recommend for a slightly older child (i.e. a child that is able to climb up and down with confidence). I have seen these in action and they are serviceable for an older child but definitely NOT for a young child that needs to be strapped in.

Things that we were looking for in a high chair included the following:

  • Independence – ability for the child to climb on the chair to get to the table independently to join us for meals.
  • Good posture – able to rest feet on a flat surface and sit up without legs dangling freely. From experience there should not be arms on the chair for the child to lean on so that the child is taught the correct way to sit up, assisting with building core muscle strength correctly.
  • Sturdy – stability of a chair was paramount. We do not want the chair tipping over if Joshua is climbing up on it.
  • Grows with the child – Joshua is growing every day. We wanted the chair to meet his needs for at least the next 5 years. Ideally the chair should be able to be used (with some attachments such as harnesses and a table top) from 6 months and be able to be used independently (without straps and table attachment) from around 18 months.
  • Comfortable – this could be with or without cushions. We decided on no cushions as this is harder to clean. A younger child might need a little cushion to start with.
  • Easy to clean – Joshua no longer wears a bib or smock while eating so food scraps tend to get on the floor and chair.
  • Natural wood – this is aesthetically pleasing as well as comfortable to sit on in hot or cold weather.

There are plenty of chairs available and it pays to take a look online to see what price is being offered at different retailers as it varies considerably. There are some beautiful colours available in each of the chairs that I looked at, they are a wonderful contrast against your current furniture and make it special for your child. Joshua loves different colours and adores his chair.

I really enjoyed researching this topic and I discovered that there are so many different options available. I am sure there are others that I have missed, if you have any suggestions for these chairs and experience with them I would love to hear about it.

8 thoughts on “High Chairs for Independence

  1. We have a wooden chair by Safety 1st – totally uninspiring brand name but the chair is beautiful and very similar to the Stokke and the Keekaroo. We decided to go for this kind of style after reading your post on high chair independence. For now my little boy is still too young to climb up by himself, but I look forward to when he’s old enough to do so. I think he’ll love it. Thanks for providing inspiration on this topic!

    • That sounds wonderful Eline. I must look that one up and see for myself as I haven’t heard of that one. I’m glad you were inspired. Joshua loves his chair and kids that visit here love it too, it’s so empowering for them. How old is your little one?

      • It’s not well-known as it’s not sold in many places, but I believe it’s an American company. The chair we have is called “Totem”.
        My little boy has just turned one. I think he could probably climb up by himself but he definitely couldn’t do it safely yet! He has generally been responding very well to being given more independence, so we’re just waiting until he is a little bigger.

      • Just took a look, the chair looks wonderful. Would definitely add to my list of recommendations as I love the design. Looks extremely stable, I’d love to hear back from you after your little one climbs it, I’m sure he will love it.

  2. Yes, we also have the Safety First chair, it’s sold over here in Europe, it might be French, same as Stokke but much much cheaper… we have also just recently built a Learning Tower for our 16 months old boy only with IKEA stepstool and so, there are various tutorials online and it’s cool for them!

Leave a Reply

